Skip Navigation

New ABDC President to represent Australian business schools

Mon, 22 Oct 2018

Professor David Grant, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Business) at Griffith University, will be the next President of the Australian Business Deans Council, which represents the country’s 39 university business schools.

Professor Grant, who is currently ABDC Secretary, will take over from ABDC President, Professor Tony Travaglione, in early 2019. 

Professor Grant will continue the ABDC’s work in promoting and maintaining high-quality business education and scholarship in Australia.

‘I intend to ramp up the ABDC’s lobbying and advocacy activities and will be seeking to forge stronger links between our member business schools, industry and government,’ he says.

‘ABDC members educate one-third of our domestic university students and graduate more than half of the international tertiary students in Australia.’

‘International students in our business schools account for more than $5 billion in education export earnings – a significant portion of Australia’s third largest export industry,’ Professor Grant says.

Professor Grant, an internationally distinguished management scholar with extensive practical experience, leads Griffith Business School and its associated Research Centres.

He is a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences Australia and holds a PhD from the London School of Economics.

In earlier roles, Professor Grant was Senior Deputy Dean at UNSW Australia Business School; in senior leadership roles at the University of Sydney Business School including Associate Dean (Undergraduate), Associate Dean (Research), Deputy Dean (Academic) and Co-Dean; and Head of the Department of Management at King’s College, London.


Further information:

Leslie Falkiner-Rose, ABDC Communications. 0418995240.




< Back