Skip Navigation

Congratulations to business winners of Australian Awards for University Teaching

Wed, 14 Sep 2016

ABDC congratulates the following business academics, who were recipients of the 2016 Australian Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning.

  • Dr Baden U'Ren, Bond University: For creating industry-engaged entrepreneurship curriculum and services enabling all Bond business students to design real world innovative ventures before graduating thus enhancing their employability.
  • Professor Mark Brimble, Griffith University: For strategic leadership of the financial advice profession and the emerging discipline of finance and financial planning in Australia.
  • Professor Larry Neale, Queensland University of Technology: For leading authentic and sustainable learning and teaching innovations that facilitate business students' job readiness within Australia and globally.
  • LionsHeart, Dr Alberto Motta and Dr Isabella Dobrescu, University of NSW: For leadership and innovation that has transformed the teaching of economics, inspiring multidisciplinary first-year students via immersive experiential learning and empowering them to succeed.
  • Dr Lance Newey, Univeristy of Queensland: For transforming business school students into agents of social change and impact: connecting business pedagogy with community wellbeing.
  • Mr Ratna Paudyal, University of the Sunshine Coast: For collaborative, student-centred, dialogic teaching and pastoral care, that develops self-efficacy and social capital in business students, particularly underrepresented students, facilitating their transition to employment.

More than 100 of the nation’s leading university academics and professional staff are being recognised over the next month through the Citations that are awarded annually and valued at $10,000 each.

 Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham said staff members from the successful universities were assisting in the creation of a world class higher education system with an international reputation for excellence.

“Creativity and innovation in learning and teaching are the bedrock of a quality higher education system. We are fortunate to have so many dedicated people who consistently go above and beyond to deliver better teaching and student outcomes,” Minister Birmingham said

See full list of award winners


< Back